December 7, 2009

Breakfast with Santa Time: NaCoBakMo, Day 9.

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:28 am by the Green-Eyed Siren

Saturday was time for a sacred annual tradition around here: Unfocused Junior’s school’s Breakfast with Santa holiday event. Boys racing around at top speed, girls wearing picture-perfect Hanna Andersson dresses, Santa and Mrs. Claus stopping by for a visit, Christmas carols, and a craft and bake sale fundraiser for the school.

This year, despite the cookie-making frenzy, I contributed some Harry Potter wands to the craft sale. This is without a doubt one of my all-time favorite mom things to do, in part because when I found it over the summer it proved to be that most elusive of projects: one I was able to identify, start, and complete with the kids in a single day without having to go chasing out where Moses lost his sandals in order to find all of the materials for it. And it was SO EXTREMELY COOL. It made my Unfocused children deliriously happy.

Our summer Harry Potter wand project results.

After causing such excitement around here, wands seemed like a sure bet for the Holiday Craft Sale. It was all very crazy and last minute so I didn’t get any pictures, but the seven wands I made just flew off the table. Like magic, even. There would have been eight, actually, were it not for an unfortunate Regretsy-worthy problem which caused one of the wand handles to resemble, ahem, an extremely rude object. In fact, the experience suggests that if this whole cookie-baking thing doesn’t work out for me I might just have a future in creating scale models of certain items such as are generally only found in retail establishments catering to the 21-and-older crowd. Just think: I could be featured on Regretsy all the time. I’d be famous!

But I digress, and in a most unbecoming fashion. This was supposed to be a nice, heartwarming story about a very happy children’s event, which it indeed was. Both of my kids still love Breakfast with Santa, even after what is probably four consecutive years of attendance. A good time was had by all, and we are now well supplied with Magic Reindeer Food to sprinkle on the (hopefully) snow on Christmas Eve.

At last year’s Breakfast with Santa, I purchased some cookies from the bake sale. This year, of course, such an expenditure was unnecessary, but last year I was quite sanely permitting others to do the baking for me. Still, I was delighted to find a recipe card tucked in to the Chewy Chocolate-Cherry cookie package. Because they were really most excellent I tucked the card into my handy-dandy binder-o’-Christmas-notes and recipes (as opposed to my gigantic binder-o’-regular recipes, which is stuffed to overflowing and thus cannot accommodate the Christmas stuff too). When I looked through my recipes in an attempt to figure out which cookies I’d be making when, it seemed appropriate that this should be the right cookie to bake on Breakfast with Santa day.

Oh, Lordy, is this a good cookie. Absolutely perfect.

Chewy Chocolate-Cherry Cookies

2 c all-purpose flour
2/3 c unsweetened cocoa
1 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 c sugar
2/3 c butter, softened
2 t vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 1/3 c dried tart cherries (I prefer them coarsely chopped)
1/2 c semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350º. Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper, or use baking sheets coated with cooking spray.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Sift together gently with a whisk.

In a large mixing bowl combine butter and sugar. Beat at high speed until fluffy. Add vanilla and egg; beat well. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture. Beat until just combined. Fold in cherries and chocolate chips (can be done with beater attachment on a stand mixer; do not use balloon whisk attachment).

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet, or form the dough into 1″ balls (this will yield much rounder cookies) and place on baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes or just until set. Cool on baking sheets 5 minutes, then remove to wire rack to cool completely. Makes between 4 and 5 dozen cookies.

TUNE IN TOMORROW for a trip to Whole Foods.

1 Comment »

  1. Jeanne said,

    Those wands are awesome. I know some kids who couldn’t quite afford $45 for the wands at the Harry Potter Exhibit who would like you to do wand-making as your next blog project, with wands sent to those who can donate to something and recipes for how to make them!


Leave a Reply

